Sunday Scribblings #20 Who Else Can I Still Be?

Sunday Scribblings

This is a frustrating one for me. I never wanted to be one of those wistful, oh I married too young kind of people. But here I am almost 30. I graduated high school, finished college in 3 years and got married a month later before I was even of legal drinking age. Now I figured I’d have kids at a much younger age than I did, but now I’m 30, I have a 2 year old, will probably have one or more kids in the future. And I feel like so many doors are closed to me now. Like the time is past for me to do something wild.

But it’s really not. It’s just harder and will take more planning. And money. Which is the real problem, actually, but one that could likely be solved.

So who can I still be?

I can still be someone who is patient and kind most of the time. (still working on this one, I swear)

I can still be someone who followed a dream.

I can still be someone who used to live in Iowa, but now lives somewhere more fun, more exciting, and less prairie-ish.

I can still be someone who owns a thriving small business.

I can still be someone who my kids’ friends look up to and turn to for advice. (The cool mom.)

I can still be someone who did something completely crazy. And I’m not talking crazy like didn’t get her kids vaccinated or had a baby at home. I’m talking crazy like toured all 50 states over the course of a year or two while homeschooling two or three children out of her car. I’m talking crazy like took a few months off to hike the AT with her family, and then took the next fall and toured the Boundary Waters in a canoe. Or crazy like sold her house out of the blue one day, had her husband quit his job and moved away somewhere.

Hm.

3 responses to “Sunday Scribblings #20 Who Else Can I Still Be?

Leave a Reply

