I should be flattered

Because, you know, God never gives us more than we can handle. Apparently God thinks very highly of me, and that’s a good thing.

You know, I should not even really complain, because having one thing after another after another is certainly preferable to having tons of problems all at the same time.

I’ve marvelled a lot recently about the timing of things. We lost our babies at relatively good times, all things considered. I had time to deal with the first loss before the next problem, which was a sudden and persistent decline in my mom’s health. The second loss came during a lull in the health problems. I distinctly remember, after we learned the baby was dead but before my body wanted to let go, wondering how I was going to take care of my mom, too. Turns out, I didn’t need to – I had nothing to do during that time but take care of myself physically.

I don’t know how I would have handled a newborn or a pregnancy while also dealing with my mom’s myriad of problems. I hardly needed more stress in my life last fall and winter, right? Then she died and I got pregnant, well, pretty much immediately afterwards. (it’s been somewhat embarassing to watch people do the mental math on that one.) I was so worried/stressed about the pregnancy (after I started bleeding, anyway), I’m not sure how I could have done both that AND taken care of my mom, not to mention the total lack of energy one experiences in first trimester.

Now, we find out that things are good with the pregnancy on Monday, and today (Thursday), my basement floods in completely new and different ways than it’s ever flooded before. (talk about burying the lead.) My office, for example, always dry, is pretty much a lake. The rest of the basement is wetter than it’s been since we bought the house. Everything is leaking. The little door that lets you clean out the ashes from the chimney that used to be the boiler chimney (and the boiler likely used to be coal, since we have a coal chute) has water dripping from it, even. I mean, holy moly.

For a while, we were keeping up with the water in my office fairly well. I was supposed to be finishing a wholesale order and getting it out the door, but preventing a flood took all of my attention this evening. Then it started literally gushing in, and then it started coming in from another part of the wall, and I just gave up. At that point, I noticed another room was starting to flood, followed by another area. Then our family room. That’s when I started to cry, but quickly realized that losing it was not going to help a darn thing, and perhaps a better response was to turn off the lights and go to bed. When you have more leaks than you have Shop Vacs (and you own four shop vacs), then it’s time to give up, accept fate, and deal with it in the morning.

Unfortunately, we’re supposed to have our family mini vacation to Okoboji this weekend. My mom bought a timeshare from my grandfather last year. We ended up going by ourselves last year (my mom had a broken hip, my sister’s husband had to fly to California for work), but have been looking forward to a relaxing weekend with my sister and her family. We had been planning a trip to Disneyworld for after my mom died, but since we’re not doing that now (because I’m knocked up), this was kind of a substitute.

But I’m not sure we can leave. If the water stops coming in, and we can get it relatively dry in there, and it looks like it’s not going to dump more rain on us (ha), then maybe. Then again, we can’t stay here all summer just in case the basement floods.

2 responses to “I should be flattered

  1. That sucks. We don’t have water in the basement but its starting to look like all that work down in the garden I have put in is starting to wash away. Ug. You can always come camping with us if you need to get away for just a couple days…

  2. We have some water in the basement (not that much), even though seven or eight years ago we spent serious money on a new drainage system around the house.

    Congratulations on the pregnancy!!

Leave a Reply

