Weekend report

Well, the basement’s drying out again. Looks like no rain for a few days, so that’s good.

We’re headed to Chicago for the weekend to see George Gee. Problem? I have no idea how we’re going to get there. Using I-20 all the way between Des Moines and Illinois is so not appealing. We thought about taking 80 into Iowa City and then heading up to 30 and over, but 30’s closed there, and so is the road between 80 and 30 (which means we also couldn’t use that road to get up to 20). There’s not a whole lot of good options heading south from Iowa City. I can’t get ahold of the DOT folks to ask how one would go from IA City to Chicago.

And Wally has a rash. All over. Red, raised. He says they itch. When it showed up yesterday, I was unconcerned because he had bronchitis last week, and he almost invariably develops a rash after he’s been sick. Apparently, some kids just do that. But this morning, it’s worse. I have been reading that it’s possible to have an allergic reaction to penecillin even days or weeks after starting (or stopping) it, so we’re going with that theory for the time being. I’ve given him some benedryl, and we’ll see if that works, I guess.

3 responses to “Weekend report

  1. Ugh. Call George Gee. Tell him to reschedule. Then come to my house this weekend. Oh, yeah-good luck with even that. It took me 2 HOURS to put twenty miles on my car yesterday trying to get from Urbandale to Altoona. Even if the road isn’t closed, people have apparently not seen “big water” before and need to slow down to 10 miles an hour to gawk. Honestly. Its water. Nasty water at that. Wishing the best of luck, though, and hope you have a good weekend. Tell Wally to feel better:(

  2. Regarding Wally’s rash: a couple of times, I’ve gotten hives in reaction to eating tomatoes several weeks after I had a cold.

    Normally I am not allergic to tomatoes, but a doctor told me that sometimes a person’s immune system will go into overdrive after fighting off a virus, and will start to react to things that normally don’t cause a problem. An acid that is in tomatoes (and also in citrus fruits) can sometimes produce that kind of reaction.

    You might want to keep Wally off tomatoes and citrus until this rash disappears. I think all I needed to do was avoid them for a month or so. I can’t remember–that last time this happened was more than 10 years ago.

Leave a Reply

