Halloween

This year, Halloween is proving to be difficult for me. As a Christian and as a rather crunchy type, the holiday has pretty much no redeeming qualities. Pagan history. Lots of sugar. Plus, I just have a serious problem with parents sending their children out to ask for candy from strangers.

So I had no intentions of really ever celebrating the holiday with my own family, beyond putting up some seasonal decorations and maybe carving a pumpkin or two.

But Swing Des Moines has a Halloween dance and we encourage costumes. So then we all have costumes.

Can you see where this is headed?

Plus, Halloween is seriously Wally’s favorite holiday. Spiders, bats, pretend axes, mummies, ghosts, skeletons, skulls. He LOVES it all. The year he was two, I did pause to wonder if my kid was a total freak. Other kids his age were scared of the Halloween decorations asile. Not Wally. He didn’t want to leave it.

This year, he somehow has acquired an understanding of trick or treating.

And, despite the fact that I really never ever intended to participate in this insanely stupid activity, we’re considering it this year. At the very least, I think we’ll head to Night Eyes at the zoo or the Halloween activity at LHF. (Or at least, Daddy and Wally will if Mommy’s busy taking care of a newborn.) I’m not sold on the idea of trick or treating around the neighborhood, though.

5 responses to “Halloween

  1. *sigh* We have the same problem 😦 The bee is two this year, and is really really really into princesses. But not only that, she is thrilling to the plastic pumpkins at walmart. Then one of the older kids in our playgroup told her about trick or treat. So for a week she has been carrying her plastic easter basket around saying “trick? Candy?”

    *sigh*

    She hasn’t even had candy all that often.

    I had only ever planned on dressing her up her first couple of Halloweens, then moving on and never doing it.

    But here we are, and part of me says, its just one day a year and we aren’t celebrating the pagen part of things. And another says get the behind me.

    *sigh*

  2. My youngest will be 13 next month and it is *his* favorite holiday. I made peace with it a long time ago. When my boys were little, our priest researched the roots of the holiday and dedicated a whole sermon to it where he basically said the main idea is pretty benign, and that it is ok to do as long as you stay away from the ghouls. I tried to keep my kids in harmless costume for as long as I could. They started out as GI Joes, then for a few years they were scary aliens. The last time my oldest went out (he was 10 or 11 at the time), he was an overradiated accident victim.
    I had a friend/coworker at my old job who loved this holiday too. I really liked the way he put it: “this is the only day of the year when we can knock on any neighbor’s door and he will open it, say hi and give us candy.” B/c come to think of it, we don’t talk with or know our neighbors anymore… this is the one night of the year when the neighborhood comes together for a few hours. On some of our streets in our neighborhood, they turn it into a sort of giant block party where everyone comes out of their houses to sit outside and talk to each other… pretty neat.
    One thing I would beg everyone not to do, in the area where my son goes trick-or-treating with his friend, there is one woman who hands out anti-Halloween tracts instead of candy… I wish she didn’t do that. It makes us all look awful, stingy and judgemental. if you’re opposed to the holiday, just keep your porch lights off. A lot of people I know that are Jewish and do not celebrate, do exactly that and everyone’s cool with it. Oops it looks like I wrote a post on your blog, sorry! and thanks for stopping by!

  3. Ya know, I have just decided to put all of the “other” meanings, etc., behind me and just take Halloween for what that kids get excited about — a time for kids to dress up, be somebody they can only dream about being and have a lot of fun. I think if one is particularly against one element of Halloween, you can just avoid it. ie. Have the child donate the candy, don’t give out candy (instead give out something like cheap tootbrushes, etc, you know what I mean), don’t buy the scary decorations. I mean there are ways to avoid the evilness… My mom never got to Trick or Treat and she STILL talks about how much that hurt her. I really don’t think anything is worth that.

  4. I never got to trick or treat, either. Well, I did in Winterset, never in Ankeny. So, until 2nd grade. And it really bugged me, too, but it was because of the reasoning. “Halloween is a holiday we disagree with for these reasons…” would truly have been OK with me. But the reason was “we can’t because your dad’s a pastor.” (And in Winterset it was, “we have to because your dad’s the pastor.”)

    EVERYTHING was blamed on that, whether true or not.

Leave a Reply

