Pentacostal

Apparently, pentacostals are getting quite the beating in the press these days. I missed it becuase, well, I don’t have much interaction with the media. But I’ve heard thru my news source, aka Randy, about this.

And, yes, we are kind of freaky. Raising hands in worship. Singing. Dancing. Laying on of hands. Absolute belief in things like spontaneous healing. Even speaking in tongues. (which I’ve never done, fyi. It’s considered to be a gift of the spirit and not everyone is given that gift. i’ve heard that in particular, those of us with no desire to experience that gift probably won’t. fortunately for me. i’ve found, just generally speaking, that it’s people like me who did not grow up pentacostal who are more prone to be a little, well, uneasy about the speaking in tongues thing. I’m cool with it, I just don’t want to do it.)

Anyway, my point here is that Pentacostals worship in a way that is unusual to people of many other religious persusasions. But, uh, so the heck what?

4 responses to “Pentacostal

  1. This is just another opportunity for the media to bash us evangelical folks….

    Oh well.

    We are kinda freaky our own selves. Following Jesus, following the Torah laws, raising our hands in worship, believing in an actual second coming that could be right around the corner…

    Whatever, I’ll still worship my jesus.

  2. I am ignorant about Pentacostals, but I had the impression that they believed you had to be able to speak in tongues to be truly saved.

    Thanks for educating me on that.

    Every religious tradition has its elements that might look weird to outsiders. Big deal.

  3. Hm, well, I cannot speak for all Pentacostals, and it’s possible there are some denominations who do teach this, but it’s not something I’ve run across.

    Though I just did a google on “must speak in tongues to be saved” and it would appear that some people believe this to be true. But there are a lot of whack Christians out there, too. *shrug* A gal whose blog I read has been talking a lot lately about the Christians who are out there embarrassing the rest of us. It’s made me chuckle because it’s true. People are people, everywhere you go.

    I doubt you’re this interested, but this website seems to have an explanation roughly equivalent to what the Pentacostal churches I’ve attended have taught/believed: http://www.carm.org/questions/tongues_speak.

    The Assembly of God official website lists Baptism in the Spirit as one of its four core beliefs, and says this:

    “All believers are entitled to receive the baptism in the Holy Spirit, and therefore should expect and earnestly seek the promise of the Father, according to the command of our Lord Jesus Christ. This was the normal experience of all believers in the early Christian church. With the experience comes the provision of power for victorious Christian living and productive service. It also provides believers with specific spiritual gifts for more effective ministry. The baptism of Christians in the Holy Spirit is accompanied by the initial physical sign of speaking in other tongues (unlearned languages) as the Spirit of God gives them audible expression. (Luke 24:49; Acts 1:4,8; 2:4; 8:12-17; 10:44-46; 11:14-16; 15:7-9; 1 Cor. 12:1-31)”

    They use really big words. I mean, not particularly large words, but they really obfuscate the meaning of their words. ha ha. But seriously. Who talks like that?

  4. I think you just described both of us. We mush have grown up very similarly. BTW, both my boys were breach, and externals helped. Along with massage, it really got the ball rolling. When they were ready for delivery, they just turned head down. There were muscle problems involved with mine, but I wonder–are your stomach muscles relaxed from having Wally? Sometimes it’s hard to get the bodyparts working again depending on your first labor.

Leave a Reply

