have I pinpointed it?

Now that our big weekend is over, I’m finding my mind turning more often back to what’s going on inside my uterus. And I’m wondering if I’ve finally figured out what has been at the root of what’s bothered me about this pregnancy. It’s been Pregnancy As A Medical Event, and I’m fearful it will become Birth As A Medical Event.

And even though it’s been warranted and necessary and justified… it’s just not what Pregnancy and Birth are supposed to be. It is so against my deeply ingrained beliefs about pregnancy. And it’s so very much against what I’ve been trying to educate those around me about pregnancy and birth (namely, my ILs).

Leave a Reply

