My new favorite New Baby Item

Um, I have a wool sweater that I picked up at Goodwill a while back, intending to make it into diaper covers. Instead, it didn’t felt at all (it’s 100% wool, but obviously treated to be washable, thus making it less desireable for covers), and it was just my size, so I adopted it.

And it keeps me warm, of course, but the real benefit is that it doesn’t show breastmilk leaks. I wear a cotton Tshirt under it (and my camisole under that) and the cotton T can get all damp (or dripping) from leaking but I never have to worry about it showing through the sweater, because the sweater does not get wet like cotton does. I love it. Love it love it love it. Everyone with a winter baby needs one.

And, can I just say, i really like spring/summer babies better? I could be outside with Wally so much but with this one, I’m just dreading winter even more than usual. Next time, I’m ordering another warm weather baby.

4 responses to “My new favorite New Baby Item

  1. s-
    2 spring babies then an oct. there is more of a trapped feeling with fall babies, but I was at a place in my life that I was ready to hunker down for a bit and just planned on some hibernation…sitting here watching the foot of snow grow and remembering all of the bundling and then thinking..it’s just easier to stay home/in…today would have been a good day for that!!

  2. I’m with you on the fall/winter baby thing. All the work of getting everyone dressed warm and getting them out of the house takes SO much time! I’d much rather let them just play in the backyard with nothing but a diaper on. Staying in with just a baby isn’t really that big of a deal, but when you have
    an older child who needs to burn off lots of energy, staying inside all the time doesn’t work very well. I also like your wool sweater idea, I’m getting really sick of milk dripping through my shirts.

  3. Many people have told me that the summer was too hot, but I loved have Lili in July. May was great, too, but it was a late start spring so not as warm as I’d imagined it would be at that time. It’s so funny, because I thought it would be nice to have a fall baby, for the hibernation/cozy aspect. Apparently I’m just way off on that one, lol 🙂

  4. My boys were born in November and February. I liked fall/winter babies, but then I went into hibernation mode with newborns.

    It was hard getting a toddler and baby all bundled up and into the car, I admit that. On the plus side, I didn’t have to worry about a newborn getting sunburned.

Leave a Reply

