Hearing Exams

So we took Miss G in for her newborn hearing screening on Friday. She failed. Left ear passed (but barely), right ear completely failed. We are supposed to take her back in for a rescreen in 2 months. I’m really OK with that. I’m hyperaware of hearing loss issues, what with the genetic hearing loss in my family (which I am not genetically related to, so it’s OK), but even if she did have a hearing concern, we wouldn’t really do anything about it now anyway, so waiting two months to rescreen is fine with me.

I also want to get Wally screened, so I can rule out Hearing Problems. He continues to be difficult to understand, and he has trouble distinguishing between words that sound similar – or even sometimes words that don’t sound all that particularly similar. Sometimes he doesn’t hear us when we’re talking to him. Now, that could be selective hearing, and there are many other possibilities for the other things we’ve noticed, but I’d feel better definitively ruling out hearing problems.

But we can’t go thru the AEA after age 3. We have to go thru the school district. Ahem. I am reluctant to get involved with the school district in any way. So we’re considering just using an audiologist yet this year since we hit our deductible and it’ll be largely paid for. I just don’t know. I’d really rather do it for free…but not if it’s going to cause us trouble, you know?

8 responses to “Hearing Exams

  1. I second that! I can highly reccommend our audiologist if you’d like her name and contact info just let me know. We’ve been seeing her for over 2 years. Also, it’s very common for children to not pass their newborn hearing screening, I have heard.

  2. This is so interesting- we actually rejected a hearing screen for Jax, and were never offered one for Lili. I wasn’t uber confident in the computerized systems and it sounds like that may have been justified. By the time we actually got in touch with the office Jax had already started responding to loud noises so we figured a generic test at that point wasn’t necessary but it’s good to know that if we need to take him in for an reason that we should make sure we do it before age 3. For you to see the audiologist do you have to get an appointment before the 1st of the year? I’d definitely lean that way instead of going through the school system if I could help it. I wonder what percentage of newborns fail the first screen but have successful 2 month screens?

  3. I’m sure a large percent do. It’s like any screening – it casts a wide net in order to be sure to get the ones who do have a problem. Unlike many screenings, there’s not really a negative outcome from not passing. You go back and get re-screened.

    The computerized screens are actually not bad for screenings. They really are able to detect whether the eardrum is vibrating or not. What they can’t tell is WHY – and it could be something as simple as fluid or vernix still stuck in there. They were able to detect my cousins’ profound losses fairly early, as well.

  4. Yeah, I would think it would be hard doing them in the hospital on such brand, brand new babies but 2 months makes sense. They’ve worked some more things out of their system and hopefully mama is feeling more like herself at that point- and really, they wouldn’t be treating hearing loss in the first two months of life anyway…right?

  5. David flunked his first hearing screen as a newborn, but within a week or two he passed. Apparently it is common for a newborn’s ear canal to be collapsed or something like that, but it’s usually self-correcting.

  6. We actually had hearing aids for my daughter at 2 months but her loss was a very severe (almost profound) loss and she had been in the NICU for 4 weeks so they did the extensive testing while she was still there. Miraculously, her hearing has continued to improve and she has only a very mild loss now, 2 years later.

  7. Sarah – I have three cousins with profound hearing losses. One, I believe, got hearing aids around 6 months, the others didn’t get theirs until later. (One much later, but she is the oldest and it went undetected for a while). But the two who got their aids later are also both nearing 30, whereas the one who got hers at 6 months is only 20 – it’s funny how these things change.

    that’s awesome that her hearing has improved so much. It will make life just that much easier for her.

Leave a Reply

