EC progress update

Alright, so I’m horrible at poops. One time I got poop in the potty because I knew it was coming. But most of the time, it’s a complete surprise to me. She doesn’t do any pre-grunting any more. Just suddenly, one big push and splat.

But pee. oh, we’re good with pee. Our bedroom is freakishly warm in the winter (the windows seem to work in our favor here) so we’re naked a lot when we’re in there. And since it’s so much warmer than the rest of the house, we’re in there often, lol. And I keep her naked sometimes in other parts of the house, well snuggled in a blanket. Or diaperless with a gown.

Anyway. We got about half her pees yesterday. Three into a potty, the rest into a prefold that I was holding. (It’s way more convenient to walk around my house with a prefold than with a potty or other container.)

But I’ve noticed something funny about her which might also explain her wakefulness at night. I noticed this while she napped in the Mei Tai completely naked yesterday. (Which was an accident. She was crying unconsolably as I tried to dress in a hurry after our family bath, I picked her up as soon as I got my clothes on and she fell asleep almost instantly. I didn’t want to bother her, so I just wrapped her in a towel and threw on the MT.)

She doesn’t pee while asleep. At all. She wakes up to pee. And sometimes she’s quite mad about it, too. And she seems to need to nurse to pee most of the time. She gets all mad if she’s laying down by herself and she needs to pee. Picking her up and holding her doesn’t do it. But she’ll nurse for about 30 seconds, then pee, and then that’s it. She’s done nursing.

It’s interesting.

3 responses to “EC progress update

  1. That’s really intresting. I wonder if that’s why my daughter used to have trouble sleeping. Her first few nights she slept through the night were the nights when she stayed dry all night. Now she wakes frequently, but goes right back to sleep- maybe she’s peeing when she wakes up.

  2. My younger son started waking up with dry diapers very young, definitely before he was six months old. I could count on one hand the number of times he has wet during the night in the past six months, and he still nurses at night. It is strange. My older son used to soak through at night unless I had him in a very heavy-duty fitted diaper with doubler, and a wool cover over that.

    I know nothing about EC, but both my kids started pooping way less often between two and three months. I would think it would be really hard to predict a newborn’s poops. They used to poop almost with every feeding.

  3. I think this was Lili to a T. She still wakes up in the middle of the night to pee and I swear, it was the same when she was a wee babe. I can count the number of accidents she’s had while asleep on one hand, and most of those were when she was sick at some point- it is so interesting!

Leave a Reply

