Update on 2008 Family Goals

As you know, our family set some goals for 2008 that were of an environmental nature: reduce our exposure to plastics and reduce the amount of waste we produce.

We’re definitely going to keep working on these goals for 2009, but here’s where we stand:

– we got rid of several plastic items and replaced them with cloth, wood, metal, etc. Most recently, we replaced our vinyl shower curtain with a canvas one. (And I love it.) We’ve focused more on nonplastic toys for our preschooler (difficult) and baby (easy).

– we bring in much, much less packaging these days, making less waste. We recycle WAAAY more – and even more now that we have our giant blue recycle bin. Almost no paper goes into the garbage. (We’re still lazy if we’re in rooms that don’t have their own recycle container.) We’re taking the time to collapse containers before throwing them away (like the soy milk containers) so they don’t take up so much room in the garbage. I’ve found even more people to take my cast-off scrap fabrics from my businesses, which is great!

– We have definitely slacked off in the waste arena since the baby arrived in late October. In order to ensure that I eat something resembling actual nutritious food during the day, I’m relying more on convenience foods during the day, which of course, create more waste than normal food does. It’s a trade-off I’m willing to make for a brief time, though, since ensuring I get enough calories to produce adequate amounts of milk is a high priority, and cooking myself a meal from scratch every day at lunch just wasn’t happening, and we don’t always have leftovers to reheat.

But there is still room for improvement. So for 2009, we’ll be focusing again on waste and plastic, and we’ll be adding in some downsizing/decluttering. (I’m already a viscious declutterer, but there’s more I could do.) I’ll post more on the specifics next week.

Leave a Reply

