Bush

Sick of hearing from Conservatives that Bush is not Evangelical enough. The man is a METHODIST. To expect him to be Evangelical is like expecting a Catholic to start clapping and dancing during a hymn. As a Methodist, of course he’s likely to say that he doesn’t think the Bible is literally true. Of course he thinks Muslims are going to heaven, just on a different path.

I was raised Presbyterian, by a Presby minister. (Presbys and Methodists differ largely only in the number of church potlucks they have. And I think Methodists are more likely to come to church in jeans.)  My dad would have said the very same things. He really would have.

Because that’s what many mainline churches believe. (And part of why I’m not a Methodist or Presby any more…)

3 responses to “Bush

  1. yep, I think the BIG denominations are too afraid of hurting people’s feelings to take a stand on most things. You know, they may lose some people and worse, some money. Jesus didn’t mind saying this is right or wrong… God brought his wrath down when he felt it necessary. We are too lukewarm, afraid to judge, lest we be judged. But we WILL be judged in time, so better be accountable for all the stuff we THINK we are getting away with now.

  2. But Bush is a Southern Methodist, right? And there are differences between Southern Methodists and United Methodists.

    Jesus was a Jew, and Jewish theology has always accepted that righteous members of the “seven nations” (that is, gentiles) also have a share in the world to come. They are not required to follow all of the Jewish ceremonial laws to be judged righteous, but they do have to abide by some of the big commandments.

    Christian doctrines about only Christians going to heaven developed after Jesus’ lifetime.

  3. Bush is a United Methodist.
    I found this interesting article talking about how Bush differs from the United Methodist church. (which is largely politically liberal, and the ways he differs are largely political – gun ownership, for example.) http://www.adherents.com/people/pb/George_W_Bush.html

    Most Christians get the idea that one must follow Jesus from Jesus’ own words: Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

    I would not honestly say “only Christians” get to heaven. Heck, I think there’s a LOT of Christians not going to heaven. And I can’t honestly speak to others… I know what Jesus said about it. And that’s good enough for me. I know others believe different.

    Ok, I seriously need to go to a like “Judiasm for Gentiles 101” class. I still have intentions to take Biblical Hebrew once I am able to attend without a nursling. It’s times like this I really wish my dad (who knew Hebrew, Greek, and possibly also Aramaic) was alive.

Leave a Reply

