When Perfect Isn’t Good Enough (How I Conquered My Fear of the Proverbs 31 Woman)

I’ve been waiting for this book at Paperback Swap for 4 years, and I finally got it! yay! It’s a study/workbook type format, and I thought I might do the answers on here. FWIW, the book so far is great. Super funny.

So the first chapter talks about the Perfect Woman.

1. Who in today’s society is held up as the Perfect Woman, what’s your idea of perfection, how would your life be different if you were perfect?

Hm. Today’s Society would label a woman perfect if she is able to raise quiet, obedient children; have a rewarding career, possibly helping others; long, not stringly, tangle-free hair; beautiful face and perfect body; wears current fashions; can interior decorate; has a beautiful, tastefully decorated, always clean house; throws a mean party; etc. That’s not really my ideal. My idea of perfection would be well-behaved children who are sparkly and spirited and intelligent, unending patience, unfaltering energy, cooking every meal from scratch, gardening and canning, always having time for kids and husband, taking kids to wonderful places regularly, running business without making a mistake, loved by all, feared by some, active in church, unwavering faith, clean and in fashionable clothes with beautiful hair. How would my life be different? Um, I’d be perfect. I’d surely have more money. I’d always look cute. My kids and husband would be happier. We’d eat awesome meals. I’m sure my carbon footprint would be smaller. (See? My inadequacies are singlehandedly causing global warming. Just kidding. And I don’t believe all that anyway.)

2. Read 1 Cor 12:31-13:13 and Titus 3:1-8. What qualities are assoc with excellence, how do they apply to your life, how are they attained?

Love,  subject to rulers and authorities, obedient, ready to do whatever is good, slander no one, be peaceable and considerate, and show humility.

how apply to my life? I’m not sure I know the answer they’re looking for. Clearly, these are things I should be doing.

How attained? through Christ’s mercy. And oh, how we need it!

3. Why was the Law given to us?

through the law we become conscious of sin (Rom 3:20)

4. What does it mean to be saved or have faith in Christ? If Christ’s rightesousness is ours and we no longer need to strive for our own perfection, what should be our goal?

It means Christ takes my sin and gives me perfection. Despite all of my flaws, all of my faults, Christ makes me whole and perfect in the sight of God. Wow, right?

Goal? Serve and Glorify God, Love others with Christ’s love

(note, in trying not to violate copyright laws, yet also give myself a place to write out my answers, I’m writing only the gist of the questions at the end of each chapter and leaving a LOT out.)

One response to “When Perfect Isn’t Good Enough (How I Conquered My Fear of the Proverbs 31 Woman)

  1. Sounds like a good book. I love the Proverbs 31 woman, even though I know I also fall short. It has always been something to aim for. I thought about stenciling it on the laundry room wall. I may have to borrow it when you’re finished.

Leave a Reply

