politics

I don’t feel much like writing about politics lately. it seems a bit pointless, and i don’t like that. I don’t like feeling like nothing I do or say will make a difference, like the country’s marching off down this road that even Obama supporters didn’t necessarily see coming, but it’s too late now to do anything. I’m afraid history will show that by now, it was already too late.

but I will say this

Cheney rocks. I didn’t realize that Powell was still a Repub, either, but I also don’t think it matters. Actually, though I knew Powell had declared himself a Republican, I wasn’t ever aware that he was a Conservative. Since what I think Cheney is saying (and I know Rush and many others are saying it) is that the Repub party needs actual Conservatives, rather than middle of the roaders like McCain, what he said makes perfect sense, and I agree with him.

A note about Powell. He came to speak at an Independence Day celebration at my church a few years back, before he was with the Bush administration. Moving speaker, moving speech. I cried. It was probably one of the best speeches I’ve ever heard, honestly.

Anyway. I like Cheney because he just went out and said whatever the hell he felt like. It wasn’t scripted out for him. He was honest. I’ve liked him all along for one simple reason: he was a good VP. He was a VP. Having no further political ambitions, he could focus on being VP and not on running for President.

And the media is a bunch of I don’t know whats. Yeah, Cheney is soooo bad for saying unfriendly things about Obama’s policies and whatnot, when answering direct questions, but Obama hasn’t yet shut up about how horrible Bush/Cheney were, and Clinton wasn’t shy about giving his opinion once he was out of office. It’s OK for them, but not OK for Cheney. (And with Cheney’s track record, you know if he’s asked a direct question, he’s going to give a direct answer.)

—–

Regarding Obama’s administration’s tendency to constantly talk about how bad Bush was, I’m quoting myself here, from an old post:

“On this day, we come to proclaim an end to the petty grievances and false promises, the recriminations and worn out dogmas, that for far too long have strangled our politics.”

ha. my ass. I’ll believe this one when I see it.

The line in quotes is from Obama’s inauguration speech. I’m still waiting to see it, though.

——

Also, The Donald did the right thing. If there had been NUDE photos for publication, then she should have had her title removed, as that would have been against the rules/contract, but there weren’t. And he scores points in my book for pointing out that Obama feels the same way about gay marriage.

And Miss California…she’s got balls, and I admire her for sticking with her beliefs. And it’s working out quite well for her.

One response to “politics

  1. Why is it wrong to be conservative?? Why is my stand on an issue discrimination or prejudice and someone else’s their right?
    Quayle took a hit for criticizing Murphey Brown and the breaking down of family values, right?? I think it was him and wow, he became such a big joke. Don’t you think morals and values help to keep things rolling alond? Why is it bad to have them??
    If I work hard for my check, should I have the same as someone who collects theirs from the gov’t handout line?
    Better quit before I start ranting!!

Leave a Reply

