A general update on progress and thoughts so far

At the end of June, 3 months into this, I realize the hardest part of this is going to be remembering what I’m supposed to accomplish.

Nonetheless, here is a general update:

Learning

Read 10 books, fiction (6/10): Reading fiction is not going to be a problem, lol.

Read 10 books, nonfiction (0/10): Reading nonfiction won’t be a problem, either, but it’s been a good 5 years since I read fiction, and I’m remembering how much I enjoy it.

Take a bellydancing class: this is going to have to wait until Genna’s old enough to leave.

Learn German: I have bought myself some German CDs.

Take a hip hop class: Again, this will need to wait.

Take a Community Education class in something I’ve never tried before: And this will wait.

Go to an event at the observatory: I’ve kind of been waiting for them to update their website with a current schedule, but I think I’ll just call.

Art/Craft

Take a picture, over the course of a year, of every time around the clock: I’m trying to think of a good way to log the time of the pictures. I don’t wear a watch, and while the camera records the time a picture is taken, it doesn’t have an external clock, so if I”m aiming for 8:54, for example, I won’t be able to tell when the camera thinks it’s 8:54.

Do A Day In The Life I am not sure when the next official day will be, so maybe I will just pick a day.

Do the 26 things scavenger hunt: The last of these was in March, before I started this project. I’m waiting for another one.

Do the 100 strangers project (get business cards for this purpose): I need to grow some balls for this one. I today ordered my business cards for this.

Learn a new craft: Screenprinting, I just need some baby free time to do this.

Develop a new product and market it successfully. NOT a baby or children’s product. I am working on this, and anticipate being able to roll out this product this fall.

Make something for 10 different people, unexpected (3/10): I’m happily plotting my next gift.

Participate in 2 charitable crafting projects a year (1/6): I’m thinking of making blankets for Project Linus, while I still can. February is looming.

Make something using my power tools – all of them. I’m still kind of trying to figure out how to use the router, drill press, and scroll saw for the Chicken Coop.

Enter photos in the state fair: Um, I thought I was going to do this this year, but in keeping with my track record, I seem to be running out of time. Actually, in-person entries are accepted this weekend, and I’ll be at the Arts Fest, so that’s out. Well, next year, then.

Enter sewing projects into the state fair: I think I am going to go look at the entries in person this year, to better plan next year. Most of the things I knit and sew don’t exactly fit neatly into any of the categories, but I think looking in person will help. I haven’t entered things in the fair since I got married.

Learn to spin: First step. Look for someone to repair my wheel. Or make my own.

Knit a sweater: I have the pattern picked out for my first sweater, but I need to get the yarn. But before I do that, I need to make sure that I don’t own enough of any one color (or coordinating colors) to make a sweater with what I already own.

Finish or get rid of projects in the unfinished projects box: haven’t even started this.

Participate in at least one additional craft fair: probably this fall.

Relationships

Genuinely compliment a total stranger once a month. (2/33): this has been interesting.

Write a letter every other month (1/16)

Do something surprising and wonderful for Randy monthly (2/33): This is actually a hard one for me. I feel like I do wonderful things for him all the time, so coming up with something particularly wonderful is a challenge.

Put together a care package for someone: First, come up with someone who needs a care package.

Help a stranger: Hm. No progress.

Write to her again; Just haven’t had time or inclination.

Self-Improvement

Let it go. Really. : ha ha. maybe the fact that I haven’t had energy to even think about this lately is telling.

Bench press my own bodyweight: no progress.

Touch my toes: I do stretch whenever I think of it, which is less often than I think to do crunches (which is every day).

Memorize a poem: no progress

Memorize a chunk of the Bible: no progress

5 pullups. In a row.: no progress.

Use a new vocabulary word monthly (2/33): this has been fun.

Get new Glasses.

“Social” or Environmental

Buy nothing for a week.; Just need to pick a week.

Buy nothing new for a month.: Just need to pick a  month.

Take the bus instead of driving.: Just need to remember to do this, and also to go somewhere that the bus is also going.

Volunteer a bit for an organization I am not already involved with: in search of an organization that needs volunteers. I mean, that needs volunteers with babies and preschoolers in tow.

Install timers, power strips, etc. on as many items as possible to enable us to turn them off.: no progress

Get rid of plastic food storage.: no progress.

(not public… fall activity involving crafts and gifts): no progress, but need to get butt in gear.

Eating Food

Eat only local food for a week: no progress, but this is the season!

Bake bread for family monthly (3/33): this has been fun, but I’m not looking forward to July and August, months when I traditionally do not use the oven. Maybe I’ll look into baking outside. Or does making pan bread count? Or campfire bread?

Try sushi: not yet.

Try 10 new foods (0/10): I do have some kholarabi in the fridge…

Try 5 new (to me) local restaurants (2/5): and I wasn’t impressed with either one so far.

Have a candlelight dinner: just hasn’t happened yet

Eat a fried candy bar: Iowa State Fair, baby

Fast for a day IF both kids wean before the 1001 are over and I’m not pregnant.: hm.

Cook with a new food.: Just awaiting some new to me goodness from the Glann farm.

Essential Life Skills

Learn to shoot my handgun: need to do this! We finally were able to get more ammo, though. Ammo is amazingly hard to get these days.

Learn to shoot a rifle: first step: find a rifle. Actually, my uncle agreed to teach me to shoot a rifle.

Take a survival class: Find a survival class, first step.

Make a will: no progress

Go hunting: uncle agreed to take me next year when G’s older.

Learn to make jam: Abby has promised to help me here.

Learn to can food: Again with Abby. If the tomato crop is good this year, we”ll be canning together.

Try making cheese: I have a book on this. If Abby gets goat milk this year, I’ll try it with the goat milk.

Get a survival book and read it: book is acquired. Not read.

Pack our “go bags

Pack an emergency kit

Completely Random

Dance somewhere unexpected. Unexpected for me. Who is prone to dancing wherever she is.

Participate in a rally or protest or march: Um, I need to find one I want to go to! Was thinking the July 4 Tea Parties, but also thinking of going camping that weekend.

Play outside in the rain

Say no when I want to say yes but shouldn’t.

Say yes when I want to say no.

Dress up as something, go somewhere, don’t explain

For Fun

Go to a Cubs game at Wrigley Field.: next year?

Take the telescope out: We will head out to Abby’s farm with the telescope some night and let the kids see what there is to be seen. Notice how many of these depend on Abby?

Go geocaching: We need to get our GPS first.

Go night hiking: Maybe we’ll do this in Utah? Otherwise, some night here.

Visit 5 new (to me) state parks. (0/5):This is proving harder than anticipated, since the state parks I haven’t been to are kind of far.

Go to a movie by myself.: When G’s older

Go roller-skating.

Have Randy teach me to juggle.

Host a movie night.

Go to a fun indie craft fair in another city.

Go to the Botanical Center

Go to a festival.

Other

Get a massage

Get rid of 10 things each week (current/143): This has been fun.

Participate in postcrossing; use cards as basis for hs learning: no progress

Plant trees with those placentas: lol.

Decide on a proper memorial for the babies and do it

Take the time to give myself awesome sausage rolls.

Delegate 5 things. (0/5)

Write a letter to myself, to be opened in 10 years.

Write a letter to each child, to be opened in 10 years.

Write a letter to Randy, to be opened in 10 years.

Enter a contest.

(counts as 5) Do 5 Learning to Love You More assignments (0/5)

Rules

Stick $5 in a jar for every completed task

Donate $20 for every item not completed

Blog on each task’s completion and progression.

Talk to one person about this project, in person.

One response to “A general update on progress and thoughts so far

Leave a Reply

