Random vacation thoughts

So, I never get a break and vacation just seems like regular life, but in a different setting, and maybe a bit harder.

Beyond that, most of Utah’s convenience stores have HonestTea in their coolers. It was so nice. I hate being thirsty but not finding anything I want to drink. I don’t really do pop, and don’t want all the artificial colors and sugars in the other bottled drinks out there. And buying small bottles of water is hard for me. (it’s so expensive, not to mention wasteful, and I can’t help thinking that if I were buying it by the gallon, I’d get like 3 gallons for the cost of that small bottle.)

Utah is so pretty. So pretty.

There was more snow on Timp this year than any other year. But the first several times we went, Utah was in a drought. I think even the last time (3 years ago!), they were still technically experiencing a drought. I don’t think they are now.

The campground was very full. Typically, the campground is full or full-ish on the weekends, but then we’re one of maybe two families who stick around during the week. This year, we had neighbors in nearly all of the surrounding campsites most of the time. Not the same neighbors, people tended to come and go, but still…

Many of these people were rude. Driving the wrong way down the one way road. Parking their cars on the narrow road, when you’re supposed to keep only 1 car at your site and in your driveway, not on the road. Being loud at night. etc.

The campsites at Wasatch Mtn State Park are like Minnesota state parks – the sites are very secluded from each other, so you have some privacy, unlike the open fields of central Iowa’s campgrounds. I like that. I like not having people staring at us, or having to be careful to avert our eyes all the time.

This privacy, though, I think sometimes leads campers to believe that they’re all alone. So at night, when sound carries readily, they don’t feel the need to be quiet. Thus we heard the entire Silly Songs with Larry video at top volume one night, with a crowd of about 10 adults and some children laughing uproariously at all of the funny places. Nice. One group that occupied about 4 campsites all gathered together every night to talk very loudly and yell at their children well past dark. It’s not like it kept my kids up or anything, but it was super annoying.

The development that’s happening all around Park City and in the Heber Valley is disturbing. I guess I don’t know what the locals think, but Heber and Midway were both just chock full of new houses and the ever-present Condos. Ugh. Part of what I have loved about Midway was that it was like Abby’s farm plus a town, all rolled into one location. Like a small farm, then a neighbor with a city house, then maybe a house converted to a business, then next to that, a field of cows and a farm house with outbuildings, then another small farm with just a large garden, then some more houses. Some of the houses were VERY large and grand, old but well-maintained. Some were small and showing their age. It was just such a mishmash. But I wonder how long those ranches and small farms will stick around with all the development. If real estate is hot there, it won’t be long before it only makes financial sense to sell your farm to a developer, you know?

This is part of why moving to the area is not feasible at the moment – Laurie had suggested a while back that the market actually made it a great time to move, what with housing prices being pushed lower. At the time, I did some looking, and found several articles talking about how the housing slump just wasn’t evident in most of Utah. From what we saw of housing prices in the area… yeah, it didn’t look like the prices were going down, or that houses were at all hard to sell.

But Randy’s a bit more serious about moving there every time we go. If we can manage it this winter, I think we’re going to go visit to see what it’s like.  We’ll have to fly (ugh) because I don’t think either of us is eager to cross Wyoming via car in the winter. I’m so not a winter person, but I am happy to hole up inside and never leave, you know? Randy maintains that I’d need to learn to ski. I have tentatively agreed to cross-country skiing, but I will never ever hurl myself down the side of a mountain with two slippery pieces of wood strapped to my feet.

Leave a Reply

