Windmills

I wish I’d taken a picture, but, well, I was too busy trying to keep two kids happy in the miniscule backseat of our rental car.

I typically think of windmill farms as pretty. Like this. Or this. Perhaps it is just the Iowa backdrop that’s so pretty.

Because we passed a windmill farm between Mesa and Anaheim that was U G L Y.

Here is a picture.

Suddenly, all those news stories that talk about wind farms like they’re eyesores make sense.

Here, in Iowa, I think they’re beautiful. I love driving in NW Iowa and seeing the windmills. It’s very scenic, IMO.

But they’re surrounded by lush growth.

In CA, they’re surrounded by dirt. But I had a hard time imagining that valley as being anything but ugly even without the windmills.

Leave a Reply

