Gay Marriage

Just a few interesting reads.

Speaking Out: Why Gay Marriage Would Be Harmful
http://www.christianitytoday.com/ct/2004/februaryweb-only/2-16-41.0.html

http://www.answersingenesis.org/articles/wow/how-respond-to-gay-marriage
Discusses gay marriage as a symptom of a much bigger problem.

http://www.christiananswers.net/q-eden/edn-f018.html
God’s Plan for Sexuality. This probably most accurately sums up my thoughts. The Bible reveals to us God’s plan for sexuality, and what is and is not OK.

I think we allow ourselves to be drawn into an irrelevant argument when discussing gay marriage. What’s it going to hurt? Why can’t everyone have the same rights? etc.

It’s wrong. The end.

9 responses to “Gay Marriage

  1. It may be “wrong” to you, thus your religion can make and follow rules accordingly. But we do not live in a theocracy (thank goodness), thus your religion-specific rules do not apply to everyone.
    I am an atheist, a former Presbyterian. I have no problem with homosexuality, gay marriage, etc. Your religious rules do not apply to me, nor should they be the basis of our government.

  2. Karen,
    I could argue whether or not my religious rules apply to everyone, and quite successfully, but that’s really neither here nor there. I am not going to get pulled into a nonsense argument about theocracy, but would encourage EVERYONE to really do the research on the founding of our country, and decide for themselves – honestly and truly – whether or not religious rules do/should form the basis of our government. Our government is not a Godless one. Or at least, it was not founded as such.

  3. http://americanhistory.suite101.com/article.cfm/beliefs_of_the_founding_fathers

    No desire to argue, pointless or not, but I don’t see the world in black and white, though admittedly it’s much easier when one removes those darned shades of gray.
    Similarly, I disagree that religious rules form(ed) the basis of our government, but I’m sure we could volley source after source at each other, ad nauseum.
    You are entitled to your beliefs, but I am entitled to mine. That is what makes our country great.

  4. Actually, the Bible does mention gay sex – as well as sex outside of marriage (which at the time, and as defined by the Bible, is among Man, Woman, and God) – to be sinful. So by definition, gay sex is sinful.

    Lev 18:22-23 “You shall not lie with a male as one lies with a female; it is an abomination.” Lev 20:13 “If there is a man who lies with a male as those who lie with a woman, both of them have committed a detestable act; they shall surely be put to death.” 1 Cor 6:9 “Or do you not know that the unrighteous shall not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived; neither fornicators, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor effeminate, nor homosexuals” 1 Tim 1:9-10 “realizing the fact that (civil) law is not made for a righteous man, but for those who are lawless and rebellious, for the ungodly and sinners, for the unholy and profane, for those who kill their fathers or mothers, for murderers and immoral men and homosexuals and kidnappers and liars and perjurers” Rom 1:26-27 “For this reason God gave them over to degrading passions; for their women exchanged the natural function for that which is unnatural, and in the same way also the men abandoned the natural function of the woman and burned in their desire toward one another, men with men committing indecent acts and receiving in their own persons the due penalty of their error.”

    Also, most research I’ve read into gay lifestyles (including those written by gay activitsts, some of which were referenced in the links I provided) agrees that homosexuals – particularly gay men – are more promiscuous (even when in a relationship) than straights. Considering the single straight people I know, I find this somewhat hard to believe, lol.

  5. I think that’s a nice try on the picking and choosing aspect, but I think that comes from an incomplete understanding of most of the OT. The OT does not tell us to offer our daughters to strangers as whores. Actually, that whole story (that you have somehow understood as offering daughters as rape victims to home invaders) is an example of just how bad gay sex was thought to be – they asked for the men so they could have sex with them, and instead, the guy offers up his daughters. It was better for them to have his daughters than for him to let the men have sex with his male guests.

    I agree that the BIble didn’t see homosexual as an orientation, and generally, I do not either. To me, the orientation is not the sin. The act is the sin. And the reason I think that is because the Bible doesn’t have a thing to say about who someone is attracted to. Only about who someone has sex with.

    At least we can agree that sin is sin. And the Bible is the book that God uses to show us what is sin and what isn’t. Ultimately, we all have to justify our actions to Him.

    And, yes, we SHOULD love everyone. Which is my whole point on another post. We can love people while still hating the sin. I really really get very very sick of being told that because I’m not afraid to call a sin a sin that I’m a hater, that I discriminate, that I’m a homophobe. Hell, I also think that it’s a sin to cheat on your spouse (which I guess might be awfully old testament of me), but I don’t discriminte against adulterers. I think it’s a sin to sleep around before marriage (again, soooo old testament of me), but I don’t discriminate against people who do. (Because, hell, that would be like 75% of the country.)

    Nowhere do I read in the NT that you can do whatever you want as long as you’re loving…

    But I’ve written extensively on this subject elsewhere on the blog and don’t care to do so again just now.

Leave a Reply

