Alana Kagan

I’m getting rather tired of reading/hearing that Grassley’s opposition to Kagan is just because he’s partisan. Um, is it possible that he actually opposes her for good reasons?

Though I guess I can see why liberals might think it’s just partisanship. After all, most don’t seem to have a problem with trampling all over the Constitution, so why anyone else would have an issue with it must be a mystery.

(note: some liberals are more reasonable, I’m sure. I’m speaking here of 99% of those liberals in Congress or the media. If you’re not in Congress or the media, then I’m not talking about you.)

I will admit, I stopped listening to stuff about Kagan several months ago. I had woken up early and was watching the news on TV and heard Kagan’s discussion about the Declaration of Independence. It’s possible she’s never read it.

She doesn’t have an opinion on whether we have rights outside of the Constitution.

She has no opinion on that.

For those of you unfamiliar:

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.

This is an important point. We have rights as human beings (no, I’m not talking about “human rights” like, um, the “right to marriage,” lol). We have been endowed by our Creator with rights. God himself has given us rights. Life, Liberty, pursuit of Happiness. These rights do NOT come from Government. They come from God.

This is important! If Government doesn’t give them to us, then they cannot take them away. They are not under Government’s jurisdiction.

For a Supreme Court justice to not have an opinion on this is just flabbergasting.

(I was looking for a cite for the quote from Kagan and found this Redstate article, which is very eloquent and which I agree with wholeheartedly.)

Leave a Reply

