Burning the Quran

Also, when did it stop being spelled Koran?

Anyway.

So the guy has the right to burn whatever he wants. I mean, the Supreme Court has ruled (despite good taste and respect) that it’s OK to burn the flag, right? It’s clearly legal to burn the religious text of any religion he wants. He can.

I don’t think there’s a legal basis to stop him. I’m assuming that it’s not illegal to have a bonfire. It’s not illegal to hate. It’s not illegal to be a jerk. It’s not illegal to be an idiot. It’s not illegal to be pompous. It’s not illegal to violate the sensibilities of an entire group of people.

So he has the right to burn the Quran.

The real question is whether or not he should.

And everyone in the media seems to be all in a tizzy about what other countries and other groups outside of the US are going to think about us because of it.

(Frankly, I think we’d be better served by a media who has the balls to say “hey, everyone else in the world, in America we have freedoms and rights you can only dream about. That gives idiots the freedom to be idiots, too. Don’t like it? Tough.”)

But here’s something interesting. The guy with the Mosque 2 blocks from Ground Zero. Yes, he can legally build whatever he wants there, as long as he doesn’t violate zoning or other regulations. I don’t think there’s a legal basis on which to stop him. It’s not illegal to violate the sensibilities of an entire group of people.

So the real question is whether or not he should.

I don’t see the two situations as very different. I’m surprised that the media seems to.

One response to “Burning the Quran

  1. Sarah – I just found your blog (courtesy of Abby G) and I LOVE it! I often see you commenting on Abby’s FB post and for some reason, your name would always “ring a bell” with me. You’re Wallypop! I just now caught it! A number of years ago I remember chatting with you at some natural health fair or maybe it was the Baby fair out at Methodist in ’07…I don’t know. Anyway – I remember you now. I very much like your posts – looks like we think along the same wavelength. I’m bookmarking you!

Leave a Reply

