Books

So my friend Mike has a blog just for writing about the books he’s read. And so I’m going to totally copy him here in this blog.

But I’m going to have to start by mentioning every book I can recall reading recently.

People of Ember/City of Sparks. I listened to this on CD, and since I’m too cheap to pay the library for adult books on CD, this is from the YA section. And you can totally tell it was written for a YA audience. Not bad books, but a little predictable and all about teenagers.

Eragon Trilogy, oh, wait, I mean “Inheritance Cycle.” I just listened to this, after reading it about two years ago. The first three books anyway. He still hasn’t written book four. The bum. I also listened to the author interview after the last book in the series. I found it interesting that Mr Paolini just loved writing the parts with Roran and Katrina, whereas I found them to be the least interesting (potentially because they were written by a teenager with no real sense of what it would be like to be in a lifelong committed relationship where one person would walk to the ends of the earth, killing everything in his path, ignoring the dangers, to rescue the other from evil). The interview was also interesting because every time he was asked where he got the idea for this or that or the other thing, he alluded to reading a lot of fantasy books but never came out and said “ok, I got the idea to include the political wranglings because I read Dune.”

I was struck, when listening, by how the things I reacted to emotionally were different from the things I reacted to while reading. The same thing happened with Lord of the Rings. (The audio version had me in tears during the last big battle when the ship comes up the river and they don’t know who’s in it and they think they’re all goners and yet they determinedly battle on, only to discover that it’s Aragorn and they’re elated and you can almost hear it happening before you.)

Anyway. Different things stood out. Also, the reader read Saphira’s voice as a deep gravelly sound, whereas in the movie, the voice is provided by that chick from the Mummy movies. I like her Saphira voice better.

I thought that the second time through the series might cement in my memory the events of the third book a little better, but even though I have literally just finished it this week, I still can’t remember most of the plot details. I find that very bizarrely interesting.

Lord of the Flies. I listened to this in its entirety yesterday. Yeah, I’m glad I skipped it in high school (how, though? I don’t specifically remember, but I know it was assigned, and I know I didn’t read it). Not my favorite book ever. Part of it might have been the reader, who was also the author. I thought at first this might make it better, because the emphasis would be put in the places intended, but the author read like, well, an author. He paused a lot in the middle of sentences, just to breathe in. And his voice had very little inflection, and he did not voice the characters differently. Yikes. I wish Brendan Fraser read more books…   Regardless, the plot kept me interested, but not overly so, but again, I wonder if part of that was my struggling through the voice that was reading the story.

That is all that comes to mind. I’m working my way through A Patriot’s History of the US. My goal is to keep ahead of where Wally is in History, which means I’ll be able to return this book to Mike in approx. 11 years. LOL.

Leave a Reply

