Anti Kid Backlash

You know, some of the antikid stuff here lately comes from PARENTS and I’m tired of parents not waking up to this. (or owning up to it, anyway.)

By Antikid stuff I mean restaurants or stores instituting bans on children.

Yeah, that kind of stuff bugs me.

But ultimately, it’s a business owner’s right to decide who to do business with. (example: cake baker in Des Moines recently under fire for not wanting to do a cake for a lesbian wedding. Her right.)

But I am appalled at the behavior of other parents a good portion of the time, and shocked that all parents can’t see any correlation between parental actions (or nonactions) and these types of policies. Examples:

– Taking your kids to restaurants clearly not meant for kids. (upscale, expensive, no or teeny tiny kids menus, dark, candlelight, largely adult patrons.)

– Letting your kids run around at any restaurant (other than Chuck E Cheese or something), or be loud, or throw things, or otherwise disturb other patrons.

– Letting your kids touch fragile things at a store. I apparently know many parents who don’t see a problem with this at all. “They know how to handle breakables.” Yeah, that’s great. Actually, my kids do, too, and as long as I’m supervising, i totally trust them. Problem is, the store owner doesn’t know that, and can’t possibly know that, and can’t know that MY kids are OK with breakables but another person’s kids aren’t. It’s just simply considerate (polite) to not let the kids handle fragile things without permission from the owner of those things.

– Letting your kids roam unsupervised at a store.

– Letting kids yell, play with toys you have no intention of purchasing and that aren’t set out as samples intended for play, or pull things off shelves.

 

I see this kind of crap all the time. (except the first one, we haven’t been to a really nice restaurant in years and years) It baffles me, particularly when the very same parents then complain about our society being so “anti kid.”

I’m not saying my kids are perfect. If they are disruptive, though, I remove them so that they don’t bother other people. Because, guess what? Not everyone finds my kids as charming as I do.

PS, also tired of the reaction to these stories being shock and disbelief that a business owner might not want to do as much business as possible. It’s like when people are surprised that I won’t give them special discounts, because they are so certain that every business owner is just desperate for more business. I’m not wanting to turn down business, but unprofitable business is worse than no business. (And, in a restaurant’s case, if they believe they will get more business by not allowing kids, then they are making a smart business decision.)

One response to “Anti Kid Backlash

  1. Thank you. I, too, accept that kids will be kids, but I set limits for mine and try not to let their behavior negatively impact someone else. I would never let my kids ruin someone else’s expensive meal. Goodness. And going to a place that isn’t designed for kids to begin with isn’t exactly fair to the kid, either.

Leave a Reply

