The You’re So Vain Policy.

Gosh, I feel like I just reviewed this. But our You’re So Vain Policy basically says, if I write something and you think it’s about you, then fine, it is. I mean, it probably isn’t. But that hardly matters. If you see yourself in something I write, then it might as well be about you. Whether that’s good or bad. Many times, I’m writing about myself, things I’m wrestling with, but I don’t necessarily say “I” when I write because… hm. I don’t know. It’s a habit I got into, making things more generic and less “me-centric.” Because, seriously, I’m not that interesting of a person. 🙂 I’m not vain enough to think anyone wants to read post after post about me, myself, and I.

So, to be more particular this time. If I have a weekend where I am doing research on medical topics and catching up on my blog reading and I read one too many blog posts speaking authoritatively but giving out mis-information, and I start to get worried for other parents who might not be so savvy with reading medical journals and PubMed and the NIH website, so I write a blog post exhorting people with medical needs kids to please do their own research or at least not base any decisions off of blog posts that don’t give citations, to please not assume that blog writers have any idea what they’re talking about, and particularly to please not believe that something is safe for their child because some person on the internet says it is, and then you read that post and you start grumping around because I’m talking about you… I guess I don’t have a whole lot to say in response to that.

If you think it was about you, then it might as well have been. If you read a blog post about blogs that disseminate incorrect information and see yourself in what I wrote… I mean… I guess… okay, then.

Have you recently (or ever) written a blog post about hand sanitizer being so terrible and never useful, ever? Have you written a blog post claiming all sorts of ridiculous things about immunosuppression? Have you written a blog post stating that there is never any medical reason to circumcise a newborn? Have you written a blog post that denies that vaccines can ever have an upside? Or claiming that vaccines can do things they actually can’t? Have you written a blog post claiming various remedies are safe for pretty much everyone, when they can be quite harmful to various groups of people, both born and unborn? Have you written a blog post encouraging parents to give their kids herbal remedies not generally considered safe for children?  If so, then Hell, Yes, I’m talking about you.

I’d provide links, but I honestly don’t want to give the authors of these posts (which I read with my very own two eyes this weekend) any publicity, and you don’t want to read them anyway.

One response to “The You’re So Vain Policy.

  1. I’m not intending to wish any bad will when I say this, but I am glad to see I’m not the only one who has to deal with this sort of thing. You, however, take a more diplomatic approach to it, where I find myself restraining my fingers from typing, “If the shoe fits …” 🙂 Thanks for blogging on this and allowing us the comfort of knowing we’re not alone in this.

Leave a Reply

