I don’t care about Hobby Lobby’s supposed discrimination against Jewish holidays.

Yes, I’m a rampant racist and anti-Semite.

Not really.

But I just can’t manage to get worked up over this. Hobby Lobby, at least as of the original post at Crafting a Green World, didn’t carry Hanukkah crafts.

Waaah.

I bet they also don’t carry Ramadan craft kits.

Or, you know, Diwali craft kits.

Maybe it has to do with the owner’s Christian beliefs; maybe not. I suspect that it has more to do with whether or not Hobby Lobby believes it can sell Hanukkah craft items in enough quantity to justify the expense and shelf space.

Ultimately, though, so what? They’re a private business. If they don’t want to carry what you want to buy, then you can buy it somewhere else, and they’ve lost your business. I’m not sure we need to mount any sort of smear campaign in some sort of effort to force them to carry products they evidently don’t believe they can sell effectively.

I don’t know if you’ve noticed, but Jewish holidays are not (ok, at least in the midwest) as commercialized as Christmas and Easter. Most people I know who are Jewish LIKE that. They consciously do not buy many commercial items from their religious holidays because they want to keep it that way.

I know I personally have had terrible luck selling Hanukkah items, despite having a fair number of active customers who are Jewish. Christmas stuff? Usually sells. Hanukkah stuff, not so much. (Partly because lots of people who aren’t Christian still celebrate Christmas; not a whole lot of non-Jews celebrate Hanukkah.)

I am trying to imagine how I’d feel if a local craft store didn’t carry Christmas items, but honestly I’m having a hard time imagining that. We’re BOMBARDED with Christmas stuff from mid-October until the New Year. It’s ridiculous. But not every store I visit does carry the items I want to buy. I have, in the past, approached stores with product suggestions – “Hey, I really wanted to buy X today, but I noticed you don’t have any. I’d love to spend my money in your store because <insert reason here> but I’m going to have to <insert alternative here, usually amazon.com> instead. I hope you’ll consider adding this product in the future. Thanks for your time.”  That seems to be a more effective way of instigating change than to assume a store doesn’t carry what you want because of prejudice, asking a low-level store employee why the Corporate Office did something, and then starting a blog campaign to bash the store based on this conversation with low-level employees.

Leave a Reply

