speech

I was really just looking for the quote I thought was less than classy, but couldn’t resist commenting on this:

“On this day, we come to proclaim an end to the petty grievances and false promises, the recriminations and worn out dogmas, that for far too long have strangled our politics.”

ha. my ass. I’ll believe this one when I see it. False promises? recriminations? worn out dogmas? See the benediction that was offered for some worn out dogmas. (Black won’t have to sit in the back? I don’t recall blacks having to sit in the back in my lifetime. Though my personal fave was “the red man can get ahead, man.” methinks someone else has been watching Dharma and Greg and identifies a bit too strongly with Larry.)

The Washington Times article perceives a smackdown in some wording that, when taken in context, I don’t think is directed towards the former Administration directly.

“Now, there are some who question the scale of our ambitions who suggest that our system cannot tolerate too many big plans.Their memories are short. For they have forgotten what this country has already done; what free men and women can achieve when imagination is joined to common purpose, and necessity to courage.”  And as I recall, largely without federal income taxation.  (this is a fascinating read: http://www.treasury.gov/education/fact-sheets/taxes/ustax.shtml  It’s amazing how much I like history now that I’m not being forced to memorize dates and lines of demarcation.)

“The question we ask today is not whether our government is too big or too small, but whether it works whether it helps families find jobs at a decent wage, care they can afford, a retirement that is dignified. Where the answer is yes, we intend to move forward.Where the answer is no, programs will end.”  What does the Constitution say about the role of the Government? Is its job to find jobs for people? To provide them with medical care? retirement?

THIS was the quote that bugged me, more than anything else. Everything else that bugged me was largely political rhetoric and I expected to disagree with it because I knew largely what would be said (that would be, things I disagree with politically). This bugged me because it was addressed to other countries AND at the same time insulted past administrations:

“And so to all other peoples and governments who are watching today, from the grandest capitals to the small village where my father was born:know that America is a friend of each nation and every man, woman, and child who seeks a future of peace and dignity, and that we are ready to lead once more.”

One response to “speech

  1. Pingback: Yes, I thought so « The View From Here

Leave a comment