Sunday Scribblings #33 – a quote

The prompt this week is a quote: “I don’t want to be a passenger in my own life.” (Diane Ackerman)

What does this mean to me? Gosh.

The quote seems to be saying “I want to be in control – I want to be driving.”

But if that’s what it’s saying, I can’t say that I agree. I mean, of course I want to be in control of my own life, that is a very human drive. But is it really what’s best for me? Shouldn’t God be in control? Of all things? Shouldn’t He be driving?

You know those bumper stickers that say “God is my copilot”? And then there are some that say “If God is your copilot…switch seats.” I’m not a fan of Battling Christian Bumper Stickers, but that one has always made me chuckle, because  think it’s true. God should be the pilot, the driver.

I’ll be His passenger any day.

4 responses to “Sunday Scribblings #33 – a quote

  1. I’ve seen a number of Christian bloggers respond to this prompt in this way, and it interests me. As an atheist who is nonetheless interested in religion, I would have thought the prevailing belief was that God wants folks to do their own driving, in accordance with His teachings, not to sit passively waiting for him to start the engine. Just curious.

  2. “If God is your copilot…switch seats.” – never heard (or seen) that one- it is funny. I am a little uncomfortable with evangelical t-shirts and bumperstickers- but when it’s clever and funny I love it.

  3. Laini,
    You make an interesting point. And I would respond with – it’s kind of both ways.
    The saying “God helps those who help themselves” has always rubbed me wrong, but I do think it’s partly true. We are not to sit passively as passengers. But neither are we in charge. It’s a strange dynamic. I’m preparing a post on submission in marriage, and I see the two subjects as being so similar.
    I have my own ideas about my life, and I’m doing my thing. But I am constantly trying to make sure that “my thing” is what God wants for me to do. It’s not a religion, and directions in a book. It’s a relationship, a personal one. God has plans for ME – me alone – and for those plans to come to fruition, I have to let go of my desire to maintain complete control over my entire life.
    Maybe an example will help. Fertility. I have put my fertility completely in God’s hands. When He wants us to have another baby, we will. But in the meantime, we’re not just passively waiting for a miracle to happen. We are actually having sex. But the result of that…it’s up to God. We’re not stopping anything, we’re not purposefully having sex at strategic times to achieve or avoid a pregnancy. We’re just having fun, mindful of the potential results.
    Or this one. Randy’s job. Randy has an interesting job, but has long had a feeling that it’s not the exact perfect job for him. He feels that God wants him at his current employer. So he’s waiting on God to make the next move, open the next door, or to show him more. In the meantime, though, he’s working hard, he’s contributing, he’s earning himself a reputation as a hard worker who has good ideas and who’s really intelligent and a leader. And we have a few inklings that it might be finally paying off.
    So…he’s doing his part, and letting God do his part.
    I hope that helped explain??

Leave a comment