Balance

Work/Family balance, that is.

I used to be really good with this. I worked while Wally played, we took regular breaks for snacks and lunch and playtime and I stopped to give him attention whenever necessary.

As business has gotten busier and busier, I find that I spend more and more of my time working, frantically trying to keep up, and I feel like I put Wally’s needs a little too far down the list. He’s been really good about it, but I’m afraid he’s just learning that Mommy Likes Her Sewing Machine More Than Me. Some days recently, I’ve gotten him a snack, then plopped it down in front of him and gone back to work instead of sitting with him. sigh.

So I’m really struggling with balacing Wally’s needs with those of my business, and those of my husband (who is understandably resentful if I spend too many evenings sequestered in my basement, spending time with the sewing machine).

I’m hoping to be able to afford to hire some help early next year, but until then…