for Sara

So I’m nowhere near any computers with email and I’ll forget this if I wait.

You know I’m on Library Thing. Well, apparently several LLL groups are using LibraryThing as ways to put their Chapter library online where everyone can access it. Thought that might be a good idea for HMN. I’ll try to remember to mention it at the next meeting to the Librarian, but you’re on the leadership team so thought I’d let you know too.

Note to self: Also mention this to Jami or another LLL Leader.

Oh, the Shame.

So the Iowa Right to Life book sale was this weekend. And we went on Thursday night. And I bought some books. Good books, carefully selected books. Then we stopped back on Saturday, the final day of the sale. And all books were a quarter. And man, I just threw caution to the wind and started tossing books in my basket like a madwoman. Hey, at least I had a basket. Some people there had entire grocery carts full of books. (Granted, if we were actively homeschooling, I would probably have been one of those people.)

Here’s what I came home with:

 Is This Your Child (on my wish list/reading list) for a quarter.
Parents Nutrition Bible for $2
How to Tutor from my wish list for a quarter.
The 1949 edition of Childbirth without Fear by Grantly Dick-Read for $3.
Deutsch Fur Amerikaner and accompanying workbook for $2.
Superimmunity (not superimmunity for kids, it was just a stab in the dark, not sure if it’s good) for $3
Living Foods for Optimum Health (again, not sure if it’s good, just got it based on the title). $2.
Math 65 and Math 76 from Saxon for $3 each. Whoo whoo.
Against the Tide (about raising sexually pure kids) for a quarter.
How to Choose the Sex of your Baby by Shettles (I’ve always wanted to read this) for a quarter.
The Blooding for randy (a Joseph Wambaugh book) for a quarter.
A Child Is Born the famous picture book of a developing fetus. For a quarter.
Penny Simkin’s Pregnancy CHildbirth and the Newborn to give as a gift if it’s good like I think I remember. A quarter.
Loving Your Child is not Enough from my wishlist. For a quarter.
Siblings without Rivalry. Heard good and bad things about this. Quarter.
Absolutely Amazing Ways to Dave Money on Everything. For a quarter. (Not a bad start)
How Children Raise Parents. Thought this looked interesting. And it was a quarter.
Disney: The Mouse Betrayed. Also have wanted to read this for a while. And it was a quarter.

And easily 2 dozen books for Wally. A quarter or less each.

And then Fertility, Cycles, and Nutrition which I already own but it’s such a good book I couldnt’ stand for it to sit there unpurchased, so I’ll give it away.

And also How to Listen so Kids will Talk and talk so kids wil listen which I also already own but didn’t realize. So I’ll trade or sell it.

I found myself wishing I was equipped to buy a bunch of books and then resell them, but I don’t know what sells these days. I made a note to brush up on what’s hot on Half.com and the swap boards before next year’s sale.  

Oh, and as a bonus, I was telling Randy that it was a shame I kept seeing really good books that I already own still there because SOMEBODY should buy them and read them! And a woman overheard me. We were at the Parenting table and so she steps over and asks me for some recommendations. So I handed her a Dr. Sears book and another book whose title escapes me at the moment. She holds up Secrets of the Baby Whisperer and asks me about it. I said “hmmm…welll….. it goes against my personal parenting philosophies, but some people have liked it and you may, too, so I’m not saying that it’s not good. Just I don’t recommend it because I don’t agree with her recommendations and her view of children.”

So, maybe she bought it after I left, maybe not. I don’t know. Hopefully she bought the Dr Sears one, though. It was Christian Parenting and Childcare. The Baby Book with God in it.

——-

So anyway. I got rid of about 10 books in the past few months. And now I have 20 new ones. sigh. So much for “smallering,” eh?

Sunday Scribblings #25 – GoogleMagic

Sunday Scribblings

You come up with your own subject, but the catch is: choose something you want to know more about, and google it.

This is interesting because I navigated to Sunday Scribblings after having just completed, for reasons I don’t entirely remember, a search on the history of the bra.

Apparently, breasts have been restrained for a good long time, for both practical and fashion reasons.  The modern bra was invented by an American woman in the early 1900s. (Her patent was issued in 1914.) The modern bra got the shape and function we are most familiar with today in the 1920s by some dress designers hoping to make their dresses look better by defining the breasts more.

I’ll note here that I’ve not worn a bra for over 2 years, though I still own about 6 of them. (2 nursing bras, 4 bras from my pre-baby days.) I keep thinking about getting rid of them entirely, but am stopped by the thought that if I never need to wear a bra again, I’d then have to go out a buy one, and I hate – hate – hate bra shopping. (And so if I’m going to keep one, I may as well keep all of them – white, black, tan, and strapless – one for every possible brawearing situation.)